We are sorry,
this movie is not available
in your country
Movie no more available
More informations on FILM-DOCUMENTAIRE.FR and on VAD.CNC.FR

The Moon, the Sea, the Mood


Philipp Mayrhofer, Christian Kobald
Austria, France, 2008
Production : Philipp Mayrhofer, Sciapode
47'
English, Kilivila
French, English


Synopsis


During the First World War the Polish pioneer of modern anthropology Bronislaw Malinowski lived among the natives of the Trobriand Islands belonging to New Guinea. Impressed by the private diary he kept in those years, the two authors of the film embark on a "field trip" looking for his traces in present-day Papua New Guinea. The people they encounter tell their own stories about Malinowski keeping a fragmentary track of his voyages to those he once called the "Argonauts of the Western Pacific".

Tënk's film review


While Malinowski’s work has been discussed at great length by anthropologists the world over for almost a century now, what is remembered on the islands about this white man who spent two periods of two years living among the “savages”, and who revolutionised social sciences with his method of participant observation? Not much, it would seem, since the events were so long ago and the stories so vague, apart from admiration for the man who left a wealth of writing, with accounts of a way of life and a culture that have now largely disappeared – missionaries, colonisers and tourists have all passed through (or are still there).  Combining their own travel journal and encounters with a half-amused, half-disenchanted nod to various themes dear to their idol, and sprinkling the film with passages from his diary describing the terrible suffering of this Pole abandoned on the other side of the world in a place that was not always paradise, above all, the directors capture today’s islanders’ knowing nonchalance with regard to their illustrious guest, and, as they go, they also glean some of the surprising “dreams of elsewhere” that they hold in their hearts.

Jürgen Ellinghaus
Director

You like this movie, you want to share it for free with a loved one? You must first subscribe to be able to offer this film. If you are already a subscriber to Tënk, log in If you are not a subscriber yet, go to the subscription page to subscribe to the subscription of your choice

Your wish to offer this film has been taken into account. Your loved one will soon receive a mail informing him of your gift, as well as the procedure to be followed to be able to view it.

filmmakers

Philipp Mayrhofer

Philipp Mayrhofer was born in South Tyrol, Italy. He studied philosophy in Vienna and Paris, where he lives today. He has worked as a director for different TV programs, directed two feature documentaries "The Moon, the Sea, the Mood" in 2008 and "The Shadow of the Prophet" in 2011. His first fiction film, the short film "Königsberg" premiered at the director’s fortnight at the Cannes Film Festival in 2012.

Christian Kobald

Christian Kobald works as an artist, journalist, and is running together with Severin Dünser the gallery space "COCO" in Vienna. He studied philosophy at the University of Vienna, and Art, Culture and History of Ideas at the University of Applied Arts in Vienna. He also is a jury member for "Art in Public Space Lower Austria".

Other films in the collection: Sciences

Nous sommes désolés,
ce film n'est pas disponible
sur votre territoire

The Moon, the Sea, the Mood


Christian Kobald, Philipp Mayrhofer
Autriche, France, 2008
Production : Philipp Mayrhofer, Sciapode
47'
Français, Kilivila
Français, Anglais


Résumé


Pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, l’anthropologue polonais Bronislaw Malinowski s’installa parmi les indigènes des îles Trobriand au large de la Nouvelle-Guinée. Les deux auteurs du film, lecteurs passionnés du journal intime que Malinowski avait tenu en Papouasie, s'embarquent pour un voyage à la recherche de traces du fondateur de l’ethnologie moderne. Ils rencontrent des habitants qui, avec leurs anecdotes plus ou moins vraisemblables, contribuent à une enquête fragmentaire sur le passage de Malinowski chez ceux qu'il appela jadis les "Argonautes du Pacifique Occidental".

L'avis de Tënk


Si les travaux de Malinowski ont tant fait parler d'eux depuis bientôt un siècle parmi les anthropologues du monde entier, que retient-on sur place de ce Blanc qui a vécu deux fois deux ans parmi les "sauvages" et qui allait révolutionner les sciences sociales par sa méthode de l'observation participante ? Pas grand-chose, à priori, tant les événements sont loin et les récits flous, si ce n'est l'admiration pour celui qui a laissé un trésor d'écrits, témoignages d'un mode de vie et d'une culture aujourd'hui largement disparus — les missionnaires, colonisateurs et touristes sont passés par là (ou y sont toujours). Mêlant son propre récit de voyage, rencontres, clins d'œil mi-amusés mi-désenchantés à certains des thèmes chers à leur idole, et ponctuant le tout de quelques passages de son journal qui révèlent la terrible souffrance de ce Polonais largué aux antipodes pas toujours "ailleurs" paradisiaque rêvé, le réalisateur saisit avant tout une certaine nonchalance avertie des Trobriandais d'aujourd'hui vis-à-vis de leur illustre hôte, glanant au passage quelques-uns des surprenants "rêves d'ailleurs" qu'ils portent en eux.

Jürgen Ellinghaus
Réalisateur

Vous aimez ce film, vous voulez le partager gratuitement avec un proche ? Vous devez au préalable avoir souscrit à un abonnement pour pouvoir offrir ce film. Si vous êtes déjà abonné(e) à Tënk, identifiez-vous Si vous n'êtes pas encore abonné(e), rendez-vous sur la page d’abonnement pour souscrire à la formule de votre choix

Votre souhait d'offrir ce film a bien été pris en compte. Votre proche va recevoir sous peu un mail l'informant de votre cadeau, ainsi que la marche à suivre pour pouvoir le visionner.

auteurs

Christian Kobald

Christian Kobald est artiste, journaliste et dirige avec Severin Dünser l'espace de galerie "Coco" à Vienne. Il a étudié la philosophie à l'université de Vienne, et l'art, la culture et l'histoire des idées à l'université des arts appliqués de Vienne. Il est également membre du jury pour "Art in Public Space Lower Austria".

Philipp Mayrhofer

Philipp Mayrhofer est né en 1976 dans le Tyrol du Sud en Italie. Il a étudié la philosophie à Vienne et Paris, où il vit aujourd’hui. Il a travaillé comme réalisateur pour différents programmes télévisés et a dirigé deux longs métrages documentaires "The Moon, the Sea, the Mood" en 2008 et "L’Ombre du prophète" en 2011. Sa première fiction, le court métrage "Königsberg" a été sélectionnée à la Quinzaine des réalisateurs à Cannes en 2012.

LES AUTRES FILMS DE LA PLAGE Sciences