We are sorry,
this movie is not available
in your country
AVAILABLE TO VIEW FOR ANOTHER 21 days

Offer this movie

All Creatures Welcome


Sandra Trostel
Allemagne, 2018
Production : Fairy Bot
87'
Allemand
Français, Anglais


Synopsis


"All Creatures Welcome" explores the world of hackers and nerds at the events of the Chaos Computer Club, Europe's largest hacker association. The film dispels common clichés and draws a utopian picture of a potential society in the digital age.

Tënk's film review


The Hackers from the Chaos Computer Club act as modern day data Robin Hoods. In their international camps, the utopian idea of a free society becomes reality for a few days. The film follows the tribe of nerds, political activists and “other galactic life forms” in a playful attempt to delve into this anarchic diversity of life forms and open knowledge. We realize (with the help of short animated sequences), what it means to view society not as a given fact, but as a material that can be designed and “hacked”. Renouncing glorification but revealing a well-developed sense for inner contradictions, the film portrays a (sub)culture whose concerns have long become mainstream.

Luc-Carolin Ziemann,
curator, author and film educator

You like this movie, you want to share it for free with a loved one? You must first subscribe to be able to offer this film. If you are already a subscriber to Tënk, log in If you are not a subscriber yet, go to the subscription page to subscribe to the subscription of your choice

Your wish to offer this film has been taken into account. Your loved one will soon receive a mail informing him of your gift, as well as the procedure to be followed to be able to view it.

filmmaker

Sandra Trostel

Sandra Trostel is an independent filmmaker from Hamburg. After almost 19 years as editor for documentaries, feature films, commercials and music videos she began pursuing her own documentary projects and created several music videos, among others "Pantha Du Prince", "Deichkind" or "Phantom Ghost". Her first full-length documentary, "Utopia Ltd.", opened the section Perspektive Deutsches Kino at the Berlin Film Festival in 2011. It was shown at further international festivals in Mexico, the Netherlands and Austria, had a cinema run and was shown on German TV. After "Everybody's Cage", a movie on John Cage, "All Creatures Welcome" is her third feature-length film.

Other films in the collection: Sciences

Nous sommes désolés,
ce film n'est pas disponible
sur votre territoire
Encore 31 jours

Offrir ce documentaire

All Creatures Welcome


Sandra Trostel
Allemagne, 2018
Production : Fairy Bot
87'
Allemand
Français, Anglais


Résumé


"All Creatures Welcome" explore le monde des hackers et des geeks lors des événements du Chaos Computer Club, la plus grande association de hackers en Europe. Le film dissipe les clichés habituels et esquisse une image utopique d'une possible société à l'ère du numérique.

L'avis de Tënk


Les hackers du Chaos Computer Club agissent comme des Robin des Bois des données des temps modernes. Dans leurs camps internationaux, l'idée utopique d'une société libre devient réalité pendant quelques jours. Le film suit cette tribu de geeks, d'activistes politiques et "d'autres formes de la vie galactique" dans une tentative ludique de plonger dans cette diversité anarchique de modes de vie et de savoirs ouverts. Nous réalisons (à l'aide de courtes séquences animées), ce que cela signifie de considérer la société non pas comme un fait donné, mais comme un matériau qui peut être transformé et "piraté". Renonçant à toute glorification mais révélant un sens développé de la contradiction, le film dépeint une (sous-)culture dont les préoccupations nous concernent tous et toutes désormais.

Luc-Carolin Ziemann, programmatrice,
auteur et formatrice cinéma

Vous aimez ce film, vous voulez le partager gratuitement avec un proche ? Vous devez au préalable avoir souscrit à un abonnement pour pouvoir offrir ce film. Si vous êtes déjà abonné(e) à Tënk, identifiez-vous Si vous n'êtes pas encore abonné(e), rendez-vous sur la page d’abonnement pour souscrire à la formule de votre choix

Votre souhait d'offrir ce film a bien été pris en compte. Votre proche va recevoir sous peu un mail l'informant de votre cadeau, ainsi que la marche à suivre pour pouvoir le visionner.

auteure

Sandra Trostel

Sandra Trostel est une cinéaste indépendante de Hambourg. Après presque 19 ans comme monteuse de documentaires, de longs métrages, de publicités et de clips musicaux, elle a commencé à développer ses propres projets et a créé plusieurs clips musicaux, entre autres "Pantha Du Prince", "Deichkind" ou "Phantom Ghost". Son premier long métrage documentaire, "Utopia Ltd", a ouvert la section Perspektive Deutsches Kino au Festival du film de Berlin en 2011. Il a été présenté dans d'autres festivals internationaux au Mexique, aux Pays-Bas et en Autriche, a été projeté au cinéma et a été diffusé à la télévision allemande. Après "Everybody's Cage", un film sur John Cage, "All Creatures Welcome" est son troisième long métrage.

LES AUTRES FILMS DE LA PLAGE Sciences