We are sorry,
this movie is not available
in your country
AVAILABLE TO VIEW FOR ANOTHER 26 days

Trailer – Tënk a look!


Offer this movie

Legends, The Living Art of Risqué


Marie Baronnet
United-States, 2016
Production : Marie Baronnet

25'
English
French


Synopsis


A tribute to the North American pioneers of striptease and the golden age of burlesque coupled with a reflection on sex and gender. Today's elderly women from modest families pose for photographer Marie Baronnet in their work clothes. They evoke their life on the roads, the stage, the struggle for their rights, the transformation of their bodies. These archival images give an idea of their lives and the glamour they embodied. It is also a collective memory of women who fought for their freedom.

Tënk's film review


These women, now aged 65 to 95, most of them from underprivileged backgrounds, often failing to become actresses, have found in striptease a glorious escape from the sordid clichés. These women with a magical aura, with a great power of fascination, are Self-Made Women with strong characters. As the director points out: "Make no mistake about it. Each of them is a true entrepreneur of the American dream. They have conquered their flesh and their independence, their gender and their economy, and they have paid a high price for it. That's what makes them legends."
Pioneers in their field, as well as in women's empowerment, gender identity, and sexual orientation, they break with the norms of a patriarchal society. The interest of Marie Baronnet's work is that it embraces the whole female gender to reveal its diversity and singularities through striptease, told here as ""art in its own right".

Nicole Fernández Ferrer
General Delegate of the Centre Audiovisuel Simone de Beauvoir
with the help of Anne-Laure Berteau

You like this movie, you want to share it for free with a loved one? You must first subscribe to be able to offer this film. If you are already a subscriber to Tënk, log in If you are not a subscriber yet, go to the subscription page to subscribe to the subscription of your choice

Your wish to offer this film has been taken into account. Your loved one will soon receive a mail informing him of your gift, as well as the procedure to be followed to be able to view it.

filmmaker

Marie Baronnet

Marie Baronnet studied photography and multimedia at Paris 8 and then at the École des Beaux-Arts de Paris. Her self-portraits have been exhibited at the Musée d'Art Moderne of Paris, entered the collections of the Georges Pompidou Center and were part of a travelling group exhibition in the United States alongside the works of Jenny Holzer, Cindy Sherman, Barbara Kruger, Nancy Spero... Marie Baronnet took courses in photography and Critical Studies at CalArts (California Institute of the Arts). She has worked as a set photographer as well as for the American and European press. She has published with André Frère "Legends, the Living Art of Risqué". Her work mixes photo, video and sound. Her next film, "The Amexican Dream", a documentary shot on the US-Mexican border, is currently in post-production.

Other films in the collection: Restons confiné.e.s, restons féministes

Nous sommes désolés,
ce film n'est pas disponible
sur votre territoire

Legends, The Living Art of Risqué


Marie Baronnet
États-Unis, 2016
Production : Marie Baronnet

25'
Anglais
Français


Résumé


Un hommage aux pionnières nord-américaines du striptease et de l'âge d'or du burlesque doublé d’une réflexion sur le sexe et le genre. Femmes âgées aujourd’hui, issues de familles modestes, elles posent pour la photographe Marie Baronnet dans leurs habits de travail. Elles évoquent leur vie sur les routes, la scène, la lutte pour leurs droits, la transformation des corps. Des images d’archives donnent une idée de leur vie et d’un certain glamour qu’elles incarnaient. C’est aussi une mémoire collective de femmes qui ont lutté pour leur liberté.

L'avis de Tënk


Pour la plupart issues de milieux défavorisés, échouant bien souvent à devenir actrices, ces femmes âgées aujourd’hui de 65 à 95 ans ont trouvé dans le striptease une échappatoire glorieuse loin des clichés sordides. Ces femmes à l’aura magique, au grand pouvoir de fascination, sont des Self-Made Women au caractère bien trempé. Comme le souligne la réalisatrice : "Ne nous y trompons pas. Chacune d’elles est un vrai entrepreneur du rêve américain. Elles ont conquis leur chair et leur indépendance, leur sexe et leur économie, et elles en ont payé le prix fort. C’est ce qui fait d’elles des Legends."
Pionnières dans leur domaine, tout autant que dans ceux de l’émancipation des femmes, de l’identité de genre et de l’orientation sexuelle, elles rompent avec les normes d’une société patriarcale. L’intérêt du travail de Marie Baronnet est qu’il embrasse tout le genre féminin pour en révéler la diversité et les singularités à travers le striptease, raconté ici comme un "art à part entière".

Nicole Fernández Ferrer
Déléguée générale du Centre Audiovisuel Simone de Beauvoir
avec l’aide d’Anne-Laure Berteau

Vous aimez ce film, vous voulez le partager gratuitement avec un proche ? Vous devez au préalable avoir souscrit à un abonnement pour pouvoir offrir ce film. Si vous êtes déjà abonné(e) à Tënk, identifiez-vous Si vous n'êtes pas encore abonné(e), rendez-vous sur la page d’abonnement pour souscrire à la formule de votre choix

Votre souhait d'offrir ce film a bien été pris en compte. Votre proche va recevoir sous peu un mail l'informant de votre cadeau, ainsi que la marche à suivre pour pouvoir le visionner.

auteure

Marie Baronnet

Marie Baronnet a étudié la photographie et le multimédia à Paris 8 puis à l'École des Beaux-Arts de Paris. Ses autoportraits ont été exposés au Musée d'Art Moderne de Paris, sont entrés dans les collections du Centre Georges Pompidou et ont fait partie d’une exposition collective itinérante aux États-Unis au côté des œuvres de Jenny Holzer, Cindy Sherman, Barbara Kruger, Nancy Spero… Marie Baronnet a suivi des cours de photographie et de Critical Studies à CalArts (California Institute of the Arts). Elle a travaillé comme photographe de plateau ainsi que pour la presse américaine et européenne. Elle a publié chez André Frère "Legends, the Living Art of Risqué". Son travail mêle photo, vidéo et son. Son prochain film, "The Amexican Dream", un documentaire tourné à la frontière américano-mexicaine, est actuellement en post-production. (photo ©Jean-François Robert)

LES AUTRES FILMS DE LA PLAGE Restons confiné.e.s, restons féministes