We are sorry,
this movie is not available
in your country
AVAILABLE TO VIEW FOR ANOTHER 26 days

Trailer – Tënk a look!


Offer this movie

La Conférence des Femmes. Nairobi 85


Françoise Dasques
France, 1985
Production : Centre audiovisuel Simone de Beauvoir
60'
French
English


Synopsis


After Mexico City 1975 and Copenhagen 1980, the United Nations chose Kenya for the 3rd World Conference on Women. Parallel to the official Conference of States is held in July 1985 the Forum of Non-Governmental Organizations (NGO), in which 12,000 women participate. For ten days, on the University campus, they meet to discuss general and feminist political issues: peace, development, apartheid, Islam, lesbianism, violence and sexual mutilation, Israel/Palestine, etc.

Tënk's film review


A small team, made up of the director, Perrine Rouillon on sound and Anne Faisandier on the photography, went to Kenya on the invitation of the Simone de Beauvoir Center to report the excitement and the strength of the proposals of this unprecedented gathering.
The NGO Forum is a political response to the official UN conference and has its routine by creating a space for debate around experiences, projects and political mouvements to lead. It is also an expression of transnational feminism. The choice of Kenya also allows women from countries in the region to participate. They denounce the failure to take into account the economic role of women and underline the weakness or non-existence of government measures since the UN conference in 1975, as well as the absence of women in decision-making roles. The question of the specific oppression of non-Western women will be highlighted by Angela Davis. The workshops of the lesbian women's movements will also be one of the highlights of this meeting.

Nicole Fernández Ferrer
General Delegate of the Centre Audiovisuel Simone de Beauvoir
with the help of Anne-Laure Berteau

You like this movie, you want to share it for free with a loved one? You must first subscribe to be able to offer this film. If you are already a subscriber to Tënk, log in If you are not a subscriber yet, go to the subscription page to subscribe to the subscription of your choice

Your wish to offer this film has been taken into account. Your loved one will soon receive a mail informing him of your gift, as well as the procedure to be followed to be able to view it.

filmmaker

Françoise Dasques

Taught through direct cinema in the line of ethnographic film (Jean Rouch) and the Ateliers Varan (Varan workshops), Françoise Dasques has notably dealt with various Spanish and Spanish-American themes : "Humberstone, Chile."" (1987); "Paraguay, tierra colorada" (1988); "Espagnoles-françaises" (1990); "Federica Montseny, Minister of the Republic" (1990); "Augusto Roa-Bastos in exile in Toulouse" (1990). Being an art historian, she is now working on the heritage and influence of the French architectural laboratory in the global world of the 19th century.

Other films in the collection: Restons confiné.e.s, restons féministes

Nous sommes désolés,
ce film n'est pas disponible
sur votre territoire

La Conférence des Femmes. Nairobi 85


Françoise Dasques
France, 1985
Production : Centre audiovisuel Simone de Beauvoir
60'
Anglais
Français


Résumé


Après Mexico 1975 et Copenhague 1980, les Nations Unies font le choix du Kenya pour la 3e Conférence Mondiale sur les femmes. Parallèlement à la Conférence officielle des États se tient en juillet 1985 le Forum des Organisations non-gouvernementales (O.N.G.), auquel participent 12 000 femmes. Pendant dix jours, sur le campus de l’Université, elles se rencontrent pour débattre des questions de politique générale et féministe : paix, développement, apartheid, Islam, lesbianisme, violences et mutilations sexuelles, Israël/Palestine, etc.

L'avis de Tënk


Une petite équipe composée de la réalisatrice, de Perrine Rouillon au son et d’Anne Faisandier à l’image se rend au Kenya à l’invitation du Centre Simone de Beauvoir pour rendre compte du bouillonnement et de la force de propositions de ce rassemblement inédit.
Le Forum des ONG est une réponse politique à la conférence officielle de l’ONU et à sa routine en créant un lieu de débats autour d’expériences, de projets et de luttes à mener. C’est aussi l’expression du féminisme transnational. Le choix du Kenya permet également aux femmes des pays de la région de participer. Celles-ci dénoncent la non prise en compte du rôle économique des femmes et soulignent la faiblesse ou la non-existence des mesures gouvernementales depuis la conférence de l’ONU en 1975 ainsi que l’absence des femmes dans les instances de décision.La question de l’oppression spécifique des femmes non occidentales y sera soulignée par Angela Davis notamment. Les ateliers des mouvements de femmes lesbiennes seront également un des temps fort de cette rencontre.

Nicole Fernández Ferrer
Déléguée générale du Centre Audiovisuel Simone de Beauvoir
avec l’aide d’Anne-Laure Berteau

Vous aimez ce film, vous voulez le partager gratuitement avec un proche ? Vous devez au préalable avoir souscrit à un abonnement pour pouvoir offrir ce film. Si vous êtes déjà abonné(e) à Tënk, identifiez-vous Si vous n'êtes pas encore abonné(e), rendez-vous sur la page d’abonnement pour souscrire à la formule de votre choix

Votre souhait d'offrir ce film a bien été pris en compte. Votre proche va recevoir sous peu un mail l'informant de votre cadeau, ainsi que la marche à suivre pour pouvoir le visionner.

auteure

Françoise Dasques

Réalisatrice formée au cinéma direct dans la ligne du film ethnographique (Jean Rouch) et le cadre des ateliers Varan, Françoise Dasques a notamment traité, en vidéo légère, divers thèmes espagnols et hispano-américains : "Humberstone, Chile." (1987) ; "Paraguay, tierra colorada" (1988) ; "Espagnoles-françaises" (1990) ; "Federica Montseny, ministre de la République" (1990) ; "Augusto Roa-Bastos en exil toulousain" (1990). Historienne de l'art, elle travaille aujourd'hui sur le patrimoine et l'influence du laboratoire français d'architecture dans le monde global du 19e siècle.

LES AUTRES FILMS DE LA PLAGE Restons confiné.e.s, restons féministes