We are sorry,
this movie is not available
in your country
AVAILABLE TO VIEW FOR ANOTHER 26 days

Trailer – Tënk a look!


Offer this movie

Allers-venues


Vivian Ostrovsky
France, 1984
Production : Jet Lag Production
12'
Mute


Synopsis


Women meet for the summer in a Provençal house. In a rather idyllic nature, they get active, paint, do gymnastics, rest, sometimes dressed, sometimes not. They can also be seen inside the house, busy preparing meals and always in the company of animals; cats or chickens. In spite of the fast pace of the images and the wild soundtrack, the atmosphere is serene until the separation, when the holiday is over, at the train station.

Tënk's film review


"It's a bit like putting together a family album from my personal archives," Vivian Ostrovsky said of this film made in 1984. The women of her generation, and those of the next, will also find images corresponding to the period of the creation of communities in the wake of May 1968 with the joyful and festive atmosphere that reigned in the feminist groups of the time. The chopped editing, the scrolling of images that you can't decipher at first glance, the soundtrack by Vivian Ostrovsky and Patrick Genêt, made of real sounds - you can make out the bells of the village church and the rooster crowing - and musical excerpts, which all contribute to constituting what the filmmaker and critic Yann Beauvais calls a "mosaic diary".

Joëlle Bolloch
Member of the board of the Centre Audiovisuel Simone de Beauvoir
with the help of Anne-Laure Berteau

You like this movie, you want to share it for free with a loved one? You must first subscribe to be able to offer this film. If you are already a subscriber to Tënk, log in If you are not a subscriber yet, go to the subscription page to subscribe to the subscription of your choice

Your wish to offer this film has been taken into account. Your loved one will soon receive a mail informing him of your gift, as well as the procedure to be followed to be able to view it.

filmmaker

Vivian Ostrovsky

Filmmaker born in New York in 1945, Vivian Ostrovsky spent her childhood in Rio de Janeiro, then pursued graduate studies in Paris in psychology and cinema. In the 1970s, she co-founded Ciné-Femmes, an organization dedicated to the distribution of women's films. Since 1980 Vivian Ostrovsky has directed more than twenty films, most of them shot in Super-8, which often include found footage, excerpts from fiction, documentaries, or home movies. Her films exploit the theme of displacement, and are situated, according to Yann Beauvais, between "diary films" and "collage films". She also worked on the organization of the Jerusalem Film Festival. Her work has been shown in numerous retrospectives and exhibitions in museums and festivals around the world.

Other films in the collection: Restons confiné.e.s, restons féministes

Nous sommes désolés,
ce film n'est pas disponible
sur votre territoire

Allers-venues


Vivian Ostrovsky
France, 1984
Production : Jet Lag Production
12'
Muet


Résumé


Des femmes se retrouvent pour l’été dans une maison provençale. Dans une nature assez idyllique, elles s’activent, peignent, font de la gym, se reposent, parfois vêtues, parfois non. On les voit aussi à l’intérieur de la maison, occupées aux préparatifs des repas et toujours en compagnie d’animaux, chats ou poulets. En dépit du rythme accéléré des images et de la bande son endiablée, l’atmosphère est sereine, jusqu’à la séparation, les vacances finies, sur un quai de gare.

L'avis de Tënk


"C'est un peu la mise en forme d’un album de famille à partir de mes archives personnelles." a précisé Vivian Ostrovsky à propos de ce film réalisé en 1984. Les femmes de sa génération, et celles de la suivante, retrouveront elles aussi des images correspondant à la période des communautés créées dans la suite de mai 1968, et l’atmosphère joyeuse et festive qui régnait dans les groupes féministes de l’époque ! Le montage haché, le défilement d’images que l’on ne déchiffre pas au premier regard, la bande son de Vivian Ostrovsky et Patrick Genêt, faite de sons réels — on distingue les cloches de l’église du village et le chant du coq — et d’extraits musicaux, tout concourt à constituer ce que le cinéaste et critique Yann Beauvais appelle un "journal-mosaïque".

Joëlle Bolloch
Membre du bureau du Centre Audiovisuel Simone de Beauvoir
avec l’aide d’Anne-Laure Berteau

Vous aimez ce film, vous voulez le partager gratuitement avec un proche ? Vous devez au préalable avoir souscrit à un abonnement pour pouvoir offrir ce film. Si vous êtes déjà abonné(e) à Tënk, identifiez-vous Si vous n'êtes pas encore abonné(e), rendez-vous sur la page d’abonnement pour souscrire à la formule de votre choix

Votre souhait d'offrir ce film a bien été pris en compte. Votre proche va recevoir sous peu un mail l'informant de votre cadeau, ainsi que la marche à suivre pour pouvoir le visionner.

auteure

Vivian Ostrovsky

Cinéaste née à New York en 1945, Vivian Ostrovsky passe son enfance à Rio de Janeiro puis poursuit des études supérieures à Paris en psychologie ainsi qu’en cinéma. Elle co-fonde dans les années 1970 Ciné-Femmes, organisme dédié à la diffusion de films de femmes. Depuis 1980, Vivian Ostrovsky a réalisé plus de vingt films, la plupart tournés en Super 8, qui incluent souvent du found footage, des extraits de fictions, de documentaires, ou de home movies. Ses films exploitent le thème du déplacement et se situent, d’après Yann Beauvais, entre le "film journal" et le "film collage" et elle crée de plus en plus de "films installations". Elle travaille également pour le festival du film de Jérusalem en tant que commissaire pour la programmation de cinéma d'avant garde et d'auteur. Son travail a connu de nombreuses rétrospectives et expositions dans les musées et les festivals à travers le monde. "

LES AUTRES FILMS DE LA PLAGE Restons confiné.e.s, restons féministes