We are sorry,
this movie is not available
in your country
AVAILABLE TO VIEW FOR ANOTHER 26 days

Trailer – Tënk a look!


Offer this movie

& a Fade to Grey


filmmaker : Lydie Jean-dit-Pannel
Composer : Brice Ramondenc
France, 2014
Production : 92 KISSBANKERS, LE PANLOGON

28'
French, English
French, English


Synopsis


Lydie Jean-Dit-Pannel, haunted by a stay in the Fukushima region, produces an engaged video poetry dealing with the risks and disasters of civil and military nuclear power. She uses the character she has created for herself, the "lady butterfly", as a vector and makes it coincide with an iconic character, Psyche, who serves as her guide, in a poetic and ironic way. A testimony and a solitary, absurd and dismayed wandering in the nuclear landscape.

Tënk's film review


Since Lydie Jean-Dit-Pannel first encountered the trajectory of the Monarch butterfly, she has placed the traveling Lepidoptera at the heart of her work, research and plastic creations. Fascinated by the habits and the complex migration of this small animal, the image of a female Monarch butterfly is inscribed under her skin on each of her travels. Today, these butterflies are severely endangered. Watching them evolve has become the scale of the state of Lydia's world. It is in this state of mind that she has been working since her return from the Fukushima region in September 2013.
In "& A Fade to Grey", her strange female character, pensive and tormented, wanders through nuclear-haunted landscapes, from Fukushima to Chernobyl, Nevada, Brussels and the Haute-Marne.

Nicole Fernández Ferrer
General Delegate of the Centre Audiovisuel Simone de Beauvoir
with the help of Anne-Laure Berteau

You like this movie, you want to share it for free with a loved one? You must first subscribe to be able to offer this film. If you are already a subscriber to Tënk, log in If you are not a subscriber yet, go to the subscription page to subscribe to the subscription of your choice

Your wish to offer this film has been taken into account. Your loved one will soon receive a mail informing him of your gift, as well as the procedure to be followed to be able to view it.

filmmaker

Lydie Jean-dit-Pannel

"Born in 1968, Lydie Jean-Dit-Pannel lives and works between Dijon and Paris. She teaches at the École Nationale Supérieure d'Art de Dijon. She has been questioning the image for more than twenty years through long-term projects. Video, photography, performance, installation, tattoo and text are all formats that she explores in her work. Highly aware of the damage that humans are doing to the planet, she produces important works related to the disappearance of the Monarch butterfly or nuclear dissemination. In recent years, Psyché has become her muse. This thoughtful ancient heroine, solitary adventurer, wounded lover and surviving warrior has established herself as her artistic alter ego. "

Other films in the collection: Restons confiné.e.s, restons féministes

Nous sommes désolés,
ce film n'est pas disponible
sur votre territoire

& a Fade to Grey


auteure : Lydie Jean-dit-Pannel
Musique originale de : Brice Ramondenc
France, 2014
Production : 92 KISSBANKERS, LE PANLOGON

28'
Français, Anglais
Français, Anglais


Résumé


Lydie Jean-Dit-Pannel, hantée par un séjour dans la région de Fukushima, réalise une poésie vidéo engagée faisant face aux risques et aux désastres du nucléaire civil et militaire. Elle utilise comme vecteur le personnage qu'elle s'est fabriqué pendant dix ans, la "dame papillon" et le fait coïncider avec un personnage iconique, Psyché, qui lui sert de guide, de façon poétique et ironique. Un témoignage et une errance solitaire, absurde et consternée dans les paysages du nucléaire.

L'avis de Tënk


Depuis que Lydie Jean-Dit-Pannel a rencontré la trajectoire du papillon Monarque, elle a placé le lépidoptère voyageur au cœur d’un travail de réflexion, de recherches et de réalisations plastiques. Fascinée par les mœurs et la migration complexe de ce petit animal, elle fait inscrire sous sa peau lors de chacun de ses voyages l’image d’un papillon Monarque femelle. Aujourd’hui, ces papillons sont sévèrement en voie d’extinction. Les regarder évoluer est devenu l’échelle de l’état du monde de Lydie. C’est dans cet état d’esprit qu’elle travaille depuis son retour de la région de Fukushima en septembre 2013. 
Dans "& A Fade to Grey", son étrange personnage féminin, pensif et tourmenté, erre dans des paysages hantés par le nucléaire, de Fukushima à Tchernobyl, en passant par le Nevada, Bruxelles et la Haute-Marne. 

Nicole Fernández Ferrer
Déléguée générale du Centre Audiovisuel Simone de Beauvoir
avec l’aide d’Anne-Laure Berteau

Vous aimez ce film, vous voulez le partager gratuitement avec un proche ? Vous devez au préalable avoir souscrit à un abonnement pour pouvoir offrir ce film. Si vous êtes déjà abonné(e) à Tënk, identifiez-vous Si vous n'êtes pas encore abonné(e), rendez-vous sur la page d’abonnement pour souscrire à la formule de votre choix

Votre souhait d'offrir ce film a bien été pris en compte. Votre proche va recevoir sous peu un mail l'informant de votre cadeau, ainsi que la marche à suivre pour pouvoir le visionner.

auteure

Lydie Jean-dit-Pannel

Née en 1968, Lydie Jean-Dit-Pannel vit et travaille entre Dijon et Paris. Elle enseigne à l’École Nationale Supérieure d’Art de Dijon. Elle questionne l’image depuis plus de vingt ans au travers de projets au long cours. La vidéo, la photographie, la performance, l’installation, le tatouage et le texte sont autant de formats qu’elle explore dans son travail. Très sensibilisée aux atteintes que l’Homme porte à la planète, elle produit des œuvres importantes liées à la disparition du papillon Monarque ou à la dissémination nucléaire. Depuis quelques années, Psyché est devenue son égérie. Cette héroïne antique pensive, aventurière solitaire, amoureuse blessée et guerrière survivante s'est imposée comme son alter ego artistique.

LES AUTRES FILMS DE LA PLAGE Restons confiné.e.s, restons féministes