We are sorry,
this movie is not available
in your country
Movie no more available
More informations on FILM-DOCUMENTAIRE.FR and on VAD.CNC.FR

The Devil


Jean-Gabriel Périot
France, 2012
Production : Local films

7'
English
French


Synopsis


Who were the Black Panthers and what did they fight for? Jean-Gabriel Périot gives us a skilful montage of footage from the 1960s set to the music of the Boogers. He shows their fight against racism and their struggle for justice and equal rights, but also gives us a glimpse of the radicalism adopted by some of its members.

Tënk's film review


Afro-American faces that look at us and can never be forgotten. Among them is the face of Fred Hampton. Alongside other figures from the black struggle, the leader of the Black Panthers continues to harangue us from the 1960s in an uncompromising call for insurrection. He was assassinated by the police in 1969. This short film resonates with all the blunders and the ongoing struggles in the United States today. From the race riots 25 years ago in Los Angeles after the beating of Rodney King to the more recent Ferguson Unrest, the race issue continues to enflame American society. 7 minutes to examine what constitutes the legitimate use of force. What traces of this history and the violence of these struggles persist today?

Éva Tourrent
Tënk's Artistic Director

 

You like this movie, you want to share it for free with a loved one? You must first subscribe to be able to offer this film. If you are already a subscriber to Tënk, log in If you are not a subscriber yet, go to the subscription page to subscribe to the subscription of your choice

Your wish to offer this film has been taken into account. Your loved one will soon receive a mail informing him of your gift, as well as the procedure to be followed to be able to view it.

filmmaker

Jean-Gabriel Périot

Born in France in 1974, Jean-Gabriel Périot has directed several short movies at the crossroads between documentary, animation and experimental filmmaking. He has developed his own style of editing that examines violence and history using film and photographic archives. His films, including "Dies Irae", "Eût-elle été criminelle…", "Nijuman no borei (200000 fantômes)" and "The Devil", have received awards in a great many festivals worldwide. His first feature-length film, "A German Youth" opened the Panorama Section of the 2015 Berlin Film Festival before being released in cinemas and winning several prizes in festivals. His latest long movie, "Our Defeats" was screened at the Forum of the 2019 Berlin Film Festival.

Other films in the collection: L'Amérique divisée

Nous sommes désolés,
ce film n'est pas disponible
sur votre territoire

The Devil


Jean-Gabriel Périot
France, 2012
Production : Local films

7'
Anglais
Français


Résumé


Qui étaient les Black Panthers et pour quelles causes se sont-ils battus ? Jean-Gabriel Périot livre un habile montage d’images d’archives des années 1960, le tout sur une musique de Boogers. Il illustre leur lutte contre le racisme, pour la justice et l’égalité des droits, mais en partie aussi le radicalisme adopté par quelques-uns de ses membres.

L'avis de Tënk


Des visages afro-américains qui nous regardent et qu'on ne peut oublier. Parmi eux, celui de Fred Hampton. Le leader des Black Panthers aux côté d'autres figures de la lutte noire continue de nous haranguer par-delà les années 60, dans un appel sans concession à l'insurrection. Il sera assassiné par la police en 1969. Ce court métrage résonne ainsi avec toutes les bavures, toutes les luttes encore en cours aux États-Unis aujourd'hui. Des émeutes raciales il y 25 ans à Los Angeles suite au passage à tabac de Rodney King, jusqu'à Ferguson plus récemment, la question raciale continue d'embraser la société états-unienne. 7 minutes pour se questionner : quels usages de la force sont légitimes ? Quelles traces de cette histoire et de la violence de ces luttes persistent encore aujourd'hui ?

Éva Tourrent
Responsable artistique de Tënk

Vous aimez ce film, vous voulez le partager gratuitement avec un proche ? Vous devez au préalable avoir souscrit à un abonnement pour pouvoir offrir ce film. Si vous êtes déjà abonné(e) à Tënk, identifiez-vous Si vous n'êtes pas encore abonné(e), rendez-vous sur la page d’abonnement pour souscrire à la formule de votre choix

Votre souhait d'offrir ce film a bien été pris en compte. Votre proche va recevoir sous peu un mail l'informant de votre cadeau, ainsi que la marche à suivre pour pouvoir le visionner.

auteur

Jean-Gabriel Périot

Né en France en 1974, Jean-Gabriel Périot a réalisé plusieurs courts métrages à la frontière du documentaire, de l'animation et de l'expérimental. Il développe son propre style de montage qui interroge la violence et l'histoire à partir d'archives filmiques et photographiques. Ses films, dont "Dies Irae", "Eût-elle été criminelle...", "Nijuman no borei (200000 fantômes)" ou "The Devil "ont été récompensés dans de très nombreux festivals à travers le monde. Son premier long-métrage, "Une jeunesse allemande" a fait l’ouverture de la section Panorama au festival de Berlin 2015 avant de sortir sur les écrans allemands, suisses et français et de remporter de nombreux prix en festivals. Son dernier long "Nos défaites" a été présenté au Forum du Festival de Berlin 2019.

LES AUTRES FILMS DE LA PLAGE L'Amérique divisée