We are sorry,
this movie is not available
in your country
AVAILABLE TO VIEW FOR ANOTHER 52 days

Trailer – Tënk a look!


Offer this movie

Mapa de sueños latinoamericanos


Martín Weber
Argentina, Mexico and Norway, 2020
Production : MaravillaCine

91'
Spanish, Portuguese
English


Synopsis


The Argentine artist Martín Weber travelled throughout Latin America from 1992 to 2008, asking people he met to write their dreams with chalk on a small blackboard: the result is a beautiful series of black and white photos, poetic but firmly rooted in reality. Years later, in making this documentary, he follows in the footsteps of those who had posed for him and confronts himself with what life has made of their dreams.

Cinelatino 2020 Competition

Tënk's film review


It isn’t as much the dramatic composition inherent in the past that’s at work in “Mapa de sueños...” as the effects of time on people as the film encounters their broken dreams and betrayed or stolen hopes. For Martín Weber, it’s about finding the humanity in the human, beyond any determinism. His film weaves together photography and documentary cinema: the photos are snapshots of history, time standing still; the filmed documentary is its movement, its encounter with the present day. The photos are the white pebbles along this journey, tracing the states of mind of these Latin Americans from one portrait to another. The result is a fresco that, despite its apparent modesty, is in fact a hugely ambitious project, an extravagant dream to capture, over 30 years, the determinism of class and the tragic winds of a continent’s history.  It’s undoubtedly his obsession and the weight of time that make this first film so unforgettable.

Jean-Marie Barbe
Producer, Editorial Coordinator of Tënk and Co-founder of the États Généraux du Film Documentaire de Lussas

You like this movie, you want to share it for free with a loved one? You must first subscribe to be able to offer this film. If you are already a subscriber to Tënk, log in If you are not a subscriber yet, go to the subscription page to subscribe to the subscription of your choice

Your wish to offer this film has been taken into account. Your loved one will soon receive a mail informing him of your gift, as well as the procedure to be followed to be able to view it.

filmmaker

Martín Weber

Martín Weber (1968, Chile) is an Argentinean artist and filmmaker. He studied at the University of Buenos Aires. His photographic work has been exhibited and awarded internationally. "Mapa de sueños latinoamericanos" is his first film.

Other films in the collection: Escale photographie

Nous sommes désolés,
ce film n'est pas disponible
sur votre territoire

Mapa de sueños latinoamericanos


Martín Weber
Argentine, Mexique, Norvège, 2020
Production : MaravillaCine

91'
Espagnol, Portugais
Français


Résumé


L’artiste argentin Martín Weber a sillonné l’Amérique latine de 1992 à 2008 en demandant aux personnes rencontrées d’écrire leur rêve à la craie sur un petit tableau noir : le résultat est une très belle série de photos en noir et blanc, poétiques mais bien ancrées dans la réalité. Des années après, en réalisant ce documentaire, il part sur les traces de ceux qui avaient posé pour lui et se confronte à ce que la vie a fait de leurs rêves.

Prix Documentaire Festival Cinélatino, Rencontres de Toulouse 2020

L'avis de Tënk


C’est moins la dramaturgie inhérente au passé qui travaille "Mapa de sueños..." que l’effet du temps sur les êtres, tant le film rencontre les rêves brisés et les utopies trahies ou volées. Pour Martín Weber il s’agit de chercher l’humanité dans l’humain, par-delà les déterminismes. Son film tresse photo et film documentaire : la photo y est l’instantané de l’histoire, le temps arrêté ; le documentaire filmé en est le mouvement, la rencontre avec l’aujourd’hui. Les photos sont les cailloux blancs de ce voyage, qui dessinent au fil des portraits l’état des habitants du continent latino-américain. Il en résulte une fresque dont l’apparente modestie révèle en fait un projet très ambitieux, un rêve déraisonnable : saisir, sur 30 années, les déterminismes de classe et les vents tragiques de l'histoire d'un continent. C’est probablement ce tableau obsessionnel et cette charge de temps qui rend ce premier film inoubliable.


Jean-Marie Barbe
Producteur, co-fondateur des États généraux du film documentaire de Lussas

Vous aimez ce film, vous voulez le partager gratuitement avec un proche ? Vous devez au préalable avoir souscrit à un abonnement pour pouvoir offrir ce film. Si vous êtes déjà abonné(e) à Tënk, identifiez-vous Si vous n'êtes pas encore abonné(e), rendez-vous sur la page d’abonnement pour souscrire à la formule de votre choix

Votre souhait d'offrir ce film a bien été pris en compte. Votre proche va recevoir sous peu un mail l'informant de votre cadeau, ainsi que la marche à suivre pour pouvoir le visionner.

auteur

Martín Weber

Martín Weber (1968, Chili) est un artiste et réalisateur argentin. Il a étudié à l’Université de Buenos Aires. Son travail photographique a été exposé et primé au niveau international. "Mapa de sueños latinoamericanos" est son premier film.

LES AUTRES FILMS DE LA PLAGE Escale photographie