We are sorry,
this movie is not available
in your country
Movie no more available
More informations on FILM-DOCUMENTAIRE.FR and on VAD.CNC.FR

In Mansourah, You Separated Us


Dorothée-Myriam Kellou
Denmark, France, Algeria, 2019
Production : Lyon Capitale TV, HKE Production Algérie, Sonntag Film, Les Films du Bilboquet

71'
French, Arabic
English


Synopsis


During the Algerian War of independence, more than 2 million Algerian civilians were forcibly displaced by the French Army and resettled in camps. The uprooting was documented but has since been swept under the carpet. Back in Mansourah, his native village, Malek and his daughter Dorothée-Myriam document a historical memory that most young people know little about, despite its being unprecedented in the upheavals it led to in rural Algeria. Between France and Algeria, a girl and her father challenge this amnesia.

Avec le soutien de la Scam

Tënk's film review


After six years of research to document this incredible historical amnesia, Dorothée-Myriam Kellou brings her father back to his village, with the help of director Hassen Ferhani and his camera. We hear his account of the deportation in an unforgettable shot that lasts almost 5 minutes: the road disappearing into the winter as seen from the back of the tarp-covered truck transporting him. At the moment, there is nothing neutral about unbolting statues; what makes him speak out is finding in Nancy the statue of Sergeant Blandan, “hero” of Algeria’s conquest, displaced from Boufarik, where it “blocked my path” every day on his way to work! This film about rupture restores a historical archive… this massive rural exodus, a key episode in understanding contemporary Algeria, has been almost completely erased. However, this internal and internalised exile, which the film is tuned into, led to countless wanderings and migrations.

Olivier Barlet
Film critic and editor for Africultures

You like this movie, you want to share it for free with a loved one? You must first subscribe to be able to offer this film. If you are already a subscriber to Tënk, log in If you are not a subscriber yet, go to the subscription page to subscribe to the subscription of your choice

Your wish to offer this film has been taken into account. Your loved one will soon receive a mail informing him of your gift, as well as the procedure to be followed to be able to view it.

filmmaker

Dorothée-Myriam Kellou

Dorothée-Myriam Kellou is a freelance journalist and filmmaker. She uncovered in the French newspaper Le Monde in June 2016 the scandal of the French company Lafarge indirect funding of the Islamic state group during the war in Syria. Her work was rewarded with the Trace International Prize for Investigative Reporting, which recognizes reporting that uncovers bribery and transparency in the business world. Trained in documentary filmmaking in Ateliers Varan, she completed her first feature film, "In Mansourah you separated us". The film was premiered at Visions du Réel in Nyon, Switzerland in April 2019. It has received several awards, including the Human Rights Prize at the Agadir FIDADOC International Documentary Film Festival in June 2019. She graduated as a Fulbright student from Georgetown University, Washington DC and from the Institut d'Ètudes Politiques in Lyon.

Other films in the collection: Brouillon d'un rêve

Nous sommes désolés,
ce film n'est pas disponible
sur votre territoire
Le film n'est plus disponible
Plus d'informations sur FILM-DOCUMENTAIRE.FR et sur VAD.CNC.FR

À Mansourah, tu nous as séparés


Dorothée-Myriam Kellou
Danemark, France, Algérie, 2019
Production : Lyon Capitale TV, HKE Production Algérie, Sonntag Film, Les Films du Bilboquet

71'
Français, Arabe
Anglais


Résumé


Pendant la guerre d’Algérie, plus de deux millions de personnes ont été déplacées par l’armée française et regroupées dans des camps. Un déracinement documenté, mais largement occulté. De retour à Mansourah, son village natal, Malek collecte avec Dorothée-Myriam, sa fille, une mémoire historique que la plupart des jeunes ignorent, et qui pourtant a été sans précédent dans les bouleversements qu'elle a causés à cette Algérie rurale. Dans le village, fille et père interrogent ce silence intime.

Avec le soutien de la Scam

L'avis de Tënk


Pour documenter cet incroyable oubli historique, Dorothée-Myriam Kellou, après six ans de recherches et de repérages, emmène son père sur place, appuyée par le réalisateur Hassen Ferhani à la caméra. Nous entendrons son récit de la déportation en un plan mémorable de près de 5 minutes : la route défile dans l'hiver, vue de l'arrière du bâché qui le transporte. Il n'est pas neutre en ces temps de déboulonnage des statues que ce qui le pousse à parler est de retrouver à Nancy celle du Sergent Blandan, "héros" de la conquête de l'Algérie, qui fut déplacée de Boufarik, où elle "lui barrait la route" chaque jour qu'il allait au travail ! Ce film de rupture restaure une archive historique alors que cet exode rural massif, épisode fondamental pour comprendre l'Algérie contemporaine, est aujourd'hui pratiquement effacé. Cet exil intérieur et intériorisé, dont le film est au diapason, est pourtant à l'origine de tant d'errances et de migrations !

Olivier Barlet
Critique de cinéma et rédacteur pour Africultures

Vous aimez ce film, vous voulez le partager gratuitement avec un proche ? Vous devez au préalable avoir souscrit à un abonnement pour pouvoir offrir ce film. Si vous êtes déjà abonné(e) à Tënk, identifiez-vous Si vous n'êtes pas encore abonné(e), rendez-vous sur la page d’abonnement pour souscrire à la formule de votre choix

Votre souhait d'offrir ce film a bien été pris en compte. Votre proche va recevoir sous peu un mail l'informant de votre cadeau, ainsi que la marche à suivre pour pouvoir le visionner.

auteure

Dorothée-Myriam Kellou

Dorothée-Myriam Kellou est journaliste et réalisatrice indépendante. Elle a notamment révélé dans le journal Le Monde en juin 2016 l'affaire des financements indirects de l'Etat islamique par Lafarge en Syrie. Cette enquête a été récompensée par le prix Trace International de l'investigation journalistique à Washington D.C. Son premier film “À Mansourah, tu nous as séparés” a été présenté en première mondiale au Festival Visions du réel à Nyon en Suisse en avril 2019. Il a reçu plusieurs prix, dont le prix des droits humains au Festival international de film documentaire d'Agadir FIDADOC en juin 2019. Récipiendaire de la bourse d'excellence Fulbright, elle est diplômée du master d'études arabes de l'Université de Georgetown à Washington D.C et de l'Institut d'Études Politiques de Lyon.

LES AUTRES FILMS DE LA PLAGE Brouillon d'un rêve