We are sorry,
this movie is not available
in your country
AVAILABLE TO VIEW FOR ANOTHER 21 days

Trailer – Tënk a look!


Offer this movie

Songs Next Door


Flavie Pinatel
France, 2017
Production : Periscope, Films de Force Majeure

26'
Français
Anglais


Synopsis


As a portrait of a social housing project with astonishing shapes (La Maladrerie near Paris), Songs Next Door is a documentary of a different kind, since the protagonists express themselves through songs and not through speech. Implicitly, Flavie Pinatel describes poetically how people live together in France in 2016.

Avec le soutien de la Scam et le soutien du CNC-Images de la Culture

Tënk's film review


In Creole or Portuguese, alone or as a choir, slamming or belting it out – the inhabitants reveal something of themselves as they sing on what’s not a stage set but the social housing project they call home. The ululations of an old Berber woman answer the children hiding behind a fountain… But the laughter and beautiful hanging gardens don’t totally distract us from the cracked concrete, the graffitied walls and the solitude of some of the residents. How does one link up the individual and the collective? How does one make the trivial beautiful? In its very form, the film appropriates architect Renée Gailhoustet’s unique housing project; and when we see the abandoned shopping trolley encountering the waterlilies in a pool, we get a clearer understanding that the social utopia of La Maladrerie is first and foremost down to the rich diversity of its inhabitants. 

Éva Tourrent
Tënk's Artistic Director

You like this movie, you want to share it for free with a loved one? You must first subscribe to be able to offer this film. If you are already a subscriber to Tënk, log in If you are not a subscriber yet, go to the subscription page to subscribe to the subscription of your choice

Your wish to offer this film has been taken into account. Your loved one will soon receive a mail informing him of your gift, as well as the procedure to be followed to be able to view it.

filmmaker

Flavie Pinatel

With a degree in Fine Arts, Flavie Pinatel now works as a director, director of photography and artist. She lives and works between Marseille and Aubervilliers. Her work has been screened at FIDMarseille, the Lyon Biennale, the BAL platform in Paris and Visions du Réel in Nyon. She teaches Fine Arts at the École Nationale d’Architecture de Paris La Villette. Her documentary “Ramallah” (2013) has so far been selected at more than twenty festivals.

Other films in the collection: Arts

Nous sommes désolés,
ce film n'est pas disponible
sur votre territoire

Les Chants de la Maladrerie


Flavie Pinatel
France, 2017
Production : Periscope, Films de Force Majeure

26'
Français
Anglais


Résumé


Portrait de l’étonnante cité de la Maladrerie à Aubervilliers, aux formes atypiques et innovantes, ce documentaire s’inscrit dans un genre particulier, puisque les habitants s’y expriment non pas en parlant mais à travers des chansons. En filigrane, le film dresse un état des lieux poétique du vivre-ensemble dans la France d’aujourd’hui.

Avec le soutien de la Scam et le soutien du CNC-Images de la Culture

L'avis de Tënk


En créole ou en portugais, seul ou en chœur, en slam ou à tue-tête…  les habitants nous livrent en chantant un peu d'eux-mêmes dans ce qui n'est pas un décor mais la cité qu'ils arpentent et vivent au quotidien. Les youyous d'une veille berbère répondent aux enfants qui se cachent derrière une fontaine. Les rires et la beauté des jardins suspendus ne masquent pas pour autant le béton qui vieillit, les graffitis sur les murs et la solitude de certains. Comment articuler individu et collectif ? Comment rendre beau le trivial ? Le film s'empare dans sa forme même du projet de l'architecte Renée Gailhoustet à l'origine de cette cité unique. Et quand, dans un bassin, un caddie abandonné rencontre des nénuphars en fleur, on comprend mieux que l'utopie sociale de la Maladrerie passe d'abord par la richesse et la diversité de ses habitants.

Éva Tourrent
Responsable artistique de Tënk

Vous aimez ce film, vous voulez le partager gratuitement avec un proche ? Vous devez au préalable avoir souscrit à un abonnement pour pouvoir offrir ce film. Si vous êtes déjà abonné(e) à Tënk, identifiez-vous Si vous n'êtes pas encore abonné(e), rendez-vous sur la page d’abonnement pour souscrire à la formule de votre choix

Votre souhait d'offrir ce film a bien été pris en compte. Votre proche va recevoir sous peu un mail l'informant de votre cadeau, ainsi que la marche à suivre pour pouvoir le visionner.

auteure

Flavie Pinatel

Issue des Beaux-arts, Flavie Pinatel est réalisatrice, chef-opératrice et plasticienne. Elle vit et travaille entre Marseille et Aubervilliers. Son travail a été montré au FID Marseille, à la biennale de Lyon, au BAL, à Visions du réel (Nyon). Elle enseigne les arts plastiques à l’École nationale d’architecture de Paris La Villette. Son documentaire "Ramallah" (2013) compte à ce jour plus de vingt sélections en festivals.

LES AUTRES FILMS DE LA PLAGE Arts