We are sorry,
this movie is not available
in your country
AVAILABLE TO VIEW FOR ANOTHER 24 days

Trailer – Tënk a look!


Offer this movie

Il gesto delle mani


filmmaker : Francesco Clerici
Composer : Claudio Gotti
Italy, 2015
Production : Velasco Vitali, Fonderia Artistica Battaglia

77'
Italian
French, English


Synopsis


A bronze foundry in Milan. Hands that shape, knead, model, mix, repair, sand and polish. Work carried out on matter and fire, out of which the bronze figure of a dog by artist Velasco Vitali will ultimately emerge. The Fonderia Artistica Battaglia was founded in 1913 and is one of the oldest and most important artistic foundries in Italy. It produces bronze sculptures using lost-wax casting, a founding technique that dates back to the 4th century BC and is still done in much the same way today.

Tënk's film review


Who is the sculptor? The one who designs the work of art or the one who, with passion and discipline, forges the material to give it form? The young film director Francesco Clerici tries to answer this question by documenting the work of the artisans at Milan’s famous foundry as simply but precisely as possible. The result is a film – presented at the Berlin Film Festival Forum and awarded the Fipresci prize – that responds with the skill of a craftsman whose labour becomes the perfect model for this entirely self-produced film.
The ancient technique is only passed down by example, and this is why it’s crucial to witness manual labour, which follows a process but is also carried out with tenderness and passion. This is a testimony to a professionalism that’s at risk of disappearing in a society that’s forgotten to translate its history into art.

Daniela Persico
Programmer and critic

You like this movie, you want to share it for free with a loved one? You must first subscribe to be able to offer this film. If you are already a subscriber to Tënk, log in If you are not a subscriber yet, go to the subscription page to subscribe to the subscription of your choice

Your wish to offer this film has been taken into account. Your loved one will soon receive a mail informing him of your gift, as well as the procedure to be followed to be able to view it.

filmmaker

Francesco Clerici

Francesco Clerici graduated in Art History and Criticism from the Università Statale di Milano. He is an award-winning documentary director and a writer. Since 2009, he has been collaborating with the Confédération Internationale des Cinémas d'Art et d'Essai and with contemporary artist Velasco Vitali, as well as teaching courses and lessons for schools and universities. In 2012 he published his first book of short stories: "24 Fotogrammi: storia aneddotica del cinema". "Il gesto delle mani", his first feature film documentary, was presented at the 2015 Berlin Film Festival, in the Forum section, where he won the International Critics' Award (FIPRESCI).

Other films in the collection: Arts

Nous sommes désolés,
ce film n'est pas disponible
sur votre territoire

Il gesto delle mani


auteur : Francesco Clerici
Musique originale de : Claudio Gotti
Italie, 2015
Production : Velasco Vitali, Fonderia Artistica Battaglia

77'
Italien
Français, Anglais


Résumé


Une fonderie de bronze à Milan. Des mains qui façonnent, pétrissent, modèlent, mélangent, réparent, poncent et polissent. Un travail de la matière et du feu, d'où émergera finalement la figure en bronze d'un chien de l'artiste Velasco Vitali. La Fonderia Artistica Battaglia a été fondée en 1913. Elle est l'une des plus anciennes et des plus importantes fonderies artistiques en Italie. Elle produit des sculptures en bronze en utilisant la fonte à la cire perdue, une technique de fonderie qui remonte au 4e siècle avant J.C. et qui est toujours pratiquée de la même manière aujourd'hui.

L'avis de Tënk


Qui est le sculpteur ? Celui qui conçoit l'œuvre d'art ou celui qui, avec discipline et passion, forge la matière pour lui donner forme ? Le jeune cinéaste Francesco Clerici tente de répondre à cette question en documentant le travail des artisans de la célèbre fonderie milanaise de la manière la plus simple mais la plus précise possible. Le résultat est un film — présenté au Forum de la Berlinale et lauréat du Prix Fipresci — qui répond à la question avec l'habileté de l'artisan, dont le labeur devient un modèle évident pour ce cinéma totalement autoproduit.
La technique ancienne ne se transmet que par l'exemple, et c'est pour cette raison qu'il devient fondamental de témoigner du travail manuel, qui suit un processus mais qui est aussi fait de tendresse et de passion. Un témoignage d'un professionnalisme en voie de disparition, dans une société qui oublie de traduire son histoire en art.

Daniela Persico
Programmatrice et critique

Vous aimez ce film, vous voulez le partager gratuitement avec un proche ? Vous devez au préalable avoir souscrit à un abonnement pour pouvoir offrir ce film. Si vous êtes déjà abonné(e) à Tënk, identifiez-vous Si vous n'êtes pas encore abonné(e), rendez-vous sur la page d’abonnement pour souscrire à la formule de votre choix

Votre souhait d'offrir ce film a bien été pris en compte. Votre proche va recevoir sous peu un mail l'informant de votre cadeau, ainsi que la marche à suivre pour pouvoir le visionner.

auteur

Francesco Clerici

Francesco Clerici est diplômé de l’Université de Milan en Histoire et Critique d’Art. Depuis 2009, il collabore avec la Confédération internationale des cinémas d'art et d'essai et avec l’artiste contemporain Velasco Vitali, en plus de donner des formations et des cours dans des écoles et universités. En 2012 il publie son premier recueil de nouvelles : "24 Fotogrammi: storia aneddotica del cinema". "Il gesto delle mani", son premier long métrage documentaire, a été présenté à la Berlinale en 2015 dans la section Forum, où il a obtenu le prix de la Fédération internationale de la presse cinématographique (FIPRESCI).

LES AUTRES FILMS DE LA PLAGE Arts